I Made Coffee in a Siphon Pot!

by mathhbratt

I had terrible dreams last night that are still haunting me this morning, and I am trying to shift my mind somewhere else. Thankfully, I remembered I still have to write my siphon pot blog. I can’t believe I never got around to doing that! It was a very exciting experience right in the comfort of my own home.

A siphon pot looks like this before you start doing stuff with it.

IMG_3184

I was very excited to get started, but then I read this about the burner:

IMG_3185

This meant my project was on hold until I could find some alcohol fuel. Eventually, my husband discovered that my least favorite store on the planet had it, and he was gracious enough to go endure the nightmare of that store to go pick it up. (I am sure you can guess which big box store I am referring to.)

IMG_3187  IMG_3188IMG_3189

 

 

 

 

I put the fuel in the burner and then added the wick. It turned out this is too far for the wick to stick out.

IMG_3190

IMG_3191

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It turns out you want something halfway between these two. (closer to the photo on the left)

IMG_3192

After getting the flame right, I put it directly under the center of the bottom pot which I had filled to 5. Well, I thought I had the flame right, but it took forever to get the water to a slow boil. I think I could have made my flame slightly bigger (about half way between the two pictured above).

From here, I waited until I saw many tiny bubbles floating to the surface. Really, a slow boil would have been better, but I was eager.

 

While I waited, I put together the top part of the siphon pot. I put the filter in with the dangling spring thing hanging in the tube. I pulled the dangling chain until I could latch it on the bottom of the tube. Then I ground my coffee and scooped five scoops into the top. I then placed it above the bottom pot (a little too soon, but that did not end up mattering at all).

Then I watched and waited. What happens is that when the water reaches a boiling temperature (they warn you to go for low boil, because hard boil can lead to a fountain of hot coffee!) the water starts to siphon from the bottom pot into the top.

I took a video of this for you, but then I later found out my wordpress account would have to be upgraded. Sorry! Thus, I did not get as many pictures as I could have, because I was using my phone to make video instead. Sigh. Here is what I got of the siphon process:

This continued until the bottom pot was almost empty, and the top was a lot fuller. Once the bottom pot is almost empty, it is time to remove the flame. I panicked during this phase and did not get a photo for you of extinguishing it, but the burner comes with a lid that fits perfectly over the wick and flame and extinguishes it right like that. It also works as a twist on lid so that you do not have to worry about the fuel spilling or evaporating between uses. Super cool!

Once the burner has been removed, all of the liquid from the top goes through the filter and back down to the bottom pot.

IMG_3203

Once that process finishes, you have to remove the top by rocking it back and forth and trying to pull it out. This turned out to be the hardest part of the entire process. I was super nervous about breaking the glass tube, and parts of the top were still hot. I think future uses will go a lot smoother now that I know what to expect. It was just scary the first time.

Once you remove the top, the bottom pot has ready-to-serve, delicious coffee!

Clean up was super easy!

I was mostly in this for the adventure. The pot belongs to my husband, as he really loves the siphon pot coffee. I prefer richer, more robust coffee. The siphon pot makes it mild and tea-like. It is better for certain roasts more so than for others. I’ll spare you the coffee snobbery in telling you which to use and which not to.

I am more of a french press on a good medium roast kind of gal.

I have always wanted to try the aero press but have heard stories of the hassle (not that the siphon isn’t a hassle). I recently contributed to a crowd funding project for something called an American Press. It has supposedly taken the ease of use and ease of cleaning of the French Press and the deliciousness of the Aero Press and combined it into one. I should get mine in a few months. When I do, I am certain to blog about it!

In the meantime, I hope you enjoyed this post on using the siphon pot. I felt like a chemist. It was pretty cool. My daughter said it looked like something from Breaking Bad, but we all know coffee is the only drug in my life.

 

