Has This Ever Happened to You?

by mathhbratt

The weirdest thing woke me up last night. My left eye was suddenly filled with bright light. But the light was not external. It was like there was a flood light inside my skull shining in just my left eye. My ears also were making a strange sound as I was waking up and trying to figure out what was going on. I held my hand over my eye (an instinct to block out external light), but it did not work, because the light was inside my eye!

You know how when you stare at something and then close your eyes, you can sort of see that something floating in your “vision?” In a similar fashion, when I closed my eyes and this bright light was shining through it, I could see the shape of my eye’s iris with a bright hole where the pupil would be. It really freaked me out!

I sat up to try to wake myself up further. I tried to focus on things in the room, but it was like in a movie where the pixels were breaking up or something. It was like a switch in my brain was still asleep. The sound I heard was sort of like a humming static.

I laughed a little inside when I thought about weird physiological things like this happening without explanation causing people to think they were visited by aliens.

Eventually, it went away, and I was able to get back to sleep. Until then, it was VERY frustrating and disconcerting. How do you shut of the lights to go to sleep if the light is coming from inside your own head??

I tried to google what might have caused this to happen, but I could not find anything about it anywhere. Since it went away, I don’t feel the need to see a doctor or anything, but I would love to know what would cause such a strange experience. I am hoping by posting here I might find somebody else who has had this happen to them as well.

I do sometimes get sleep paralysis (which is very horrifying!!!!), so maybe this was something from that sleep disorder presenting in a different way? I don’t know. I just hope it does not happen again.

